Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities

The Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) makes federal funds available through the new Building Resilient Infrastructures and Communities (BRIC) grant program to states, local communities, tribes and territories (SLTTs) for pre-disaster mitigation activities.

BRIC is a new FEMA pre-disaster hazard mitigation program that replaces the existing Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) program. The Disaster Recovery Reform Act, Section 1234; amended Section 203 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act) and authorizes BRIC.

The BRIC priorities are to:

  • incentivize public infrastructure projects;

  • incentivize projects that mitigate risk to one or more lifelines;

  • incentivize projects that incorporate nature-based solutions; and,

  • incentivize adoption and enforcement of modern building codes.

FEMA has published a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for the BRIC grant program. The Fiscal Year 2020 (FY20) BRIC NOFO can be accessed at FEMA encourages reviewing the BRIC NOFO before applying, as it provides detailed program information and other grant application and administration requirements.

Application Funding and Deadlines

This year there is $660 million available for the FMA and BRIC programs combined. There is $160 million available in funding for FMA and $500 million for BRIC.

The application period opens on September 30, 2020. Eligible applicants must apply for funding using the new FEMA Grants Outcome (FEMA GO), which is now the management system for FMA and BRIC. Applications must be received in the FEMA GO Portal by January 29, 2021, at 3:00 p.m. Eastern Time (ET). Applications received by FEMA GO after this date will not be considered for funding.

2020 BRIC Forms

2020 Notice of Interest

2020 BRIC Fact Sheet