Radiological Services

The Radiological Services Program serves as the state’s radiation authority. Although not a regulatory program, the program provides information and data to regulatory authorities concerning incidents involving radioactive materials within the state. The tasks performed to support this statewide effort include:

  • Planning/preparedness assistance,
  • Instrumentation (including annual calibration and maintenance),
  • Training (as requested),
  • Response support, and
  • Liaison with state and federal agencies concerning nuclear/radioactive materials.

For more information on the Radiological Program call 307-777-7197.

Waste Isolation Pilot Plant program

Wyoming receives more than 700 Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP) shipments annually. It is the goal of the WIPP program to conduct the transportation of this waste in a safe and uneventful manner.

The WIPP transportation corridor in Wyoming consists of I-80 and I-25 from Cheyenne to the Colorado border. The WIPP Coordinator provides oversight of tasks agreed to under an annual cooperative agreement with the Department of Energy (DOE) through the Western Governors’ Association (WGA). The coordinator also serves as the governor’s representative on the WGA’s WIPP Technical Advisory Group.

In March of 2004, Wyoming House Bill 144 was passed by the Wyoming State Legislature and signed into law by the governor entitled the “Wyoming Emergency Response Act”.

This act allows the state homeland security director to create Regional Emergency Response Teams (RERT) within multiple county areas for the purpose of organizing, equipping, training and responding to hazardous materials, Weapons of Mass Destruction (terrorism) and or other major events impacting a community. Regional teams receive federal homeland security grant funds through the Wyoming Office of Homeland Security,

These regional teams are available to supplement local resources when an incident is beyond the first responders’ capabilities. Teams are responding in a state capacity. There are eight regional teams located around the state within the host communities of Cheyenne, Casper, Jackson, Laramie, Rock Springs, Riverton, Worland and Gillette.

The RERT, once deployed, will integrate within the local Incident Command System and will function as a component under the operations section of the local on-scene command structure when established.